I spoke with senior Megan Coceano, president of Bellydance Club recently. Here’s what she had to say:

Why did you join Bellydance Club?

I have never taken a dance class before in my life, so I didn’t have any experience and one of the girls I was actually friends with before … she was like, ‘You should come try it, like you don’t need any experience or anything like that,’ so I went and took a couple classes and I absolutely loved it, so I just kept going back.

What made you want to be the president?

I actually got, I guess, kinda suckered into it … One of the girls, after I got to know girls in the club, they needed a secretary and I said that I would step up, that I … wasn’t too busy or anything like that, so I started as secretary and about halfway through that semester we had some problems with our president, the current president, she wanted to step down, she just didn’t have the time commitment and she asked me if I was interested in stepping up and so I just did.

How many members are there?

This semester we have about 30 members, give or take, 35. Some semesters, spring semesters, tend to be a little bit smaller ‘cause a lot of the freshman are really new to it in the fall, so fall’s definitely bigger.

How do you practice bellydancing?

We practice in UREC …. Yoga Body Studio 2 is where we practice. It’s from, we have two classes which you don’t need experience for either — it’s eight to nine for like a beginner’s class which is like technique and you just learn kinda the moves and then nine to ten is like a choreography class where we take the exact moves we learned in technique and we put into the dance that we’re learning for a performance at the end of the year. It’s always on Wednesday nights.

Does the club bellydance at events?

So we’ve done TDU in the past, like at the end of the semester like right before finals kinda thing. Just something low key … Last semester we did the African Cultural Week and they had us perform at … their show, we were like an intermission kind of thing. This semester we’re doing a lot bigger things. We’re trying to perform downtown at Artful Dodger and Clementine’s, maybe both and then we’re also going on a weekend trip to VCU to be a part of their Middle Eastern Cultural Week.

Overall, what do you want the readers of 22807 to know about Bellydance Club?

It’s a lot of fun. It is a social club, so we do different bonding events and, like, different events on the weekends and stuff like that and nobody ever needs experience. I tell everyone to just come try it and everyone loves it after they try it … It’s a really welcoming club too ‘cause everyone comes in with no experience, so people don’t feel like, ‘Oh my gosh, this person’s been doing this for like eight years,’ ‘cause no one in the area has bellydance experience, it’s just not really a thing … It’s a lot of fun. It’s a good group of girls too.

 

Photo by: Megan Coceano

